



Below is an actual email letter. It’s short & sweet and aimed to trap an unwitting person into responding to a website other than a bank’s actual website.
We haven’t gone there, but are willing to believe that the phisher or scammer (probably both) has set up a web page to look very much like the bank’s actual website and will do something that doesn’t sound sinister, but actually is, like asking you to verify something.
When you log in you give the scammer your actual login information which then enables them to go to the real site for the bank, log in as you and transfer your assets to another bank where they can then withdraw it, or something similar.
Bottom line:THEY STEAL YOUR MONEY AND MAYBE YOUR IDENTITY
NOTE: You can block some of the sites, like the one in the letter below by downloading the free Netcraft anti-phishing toolbar from Netcraft.com (CLICK HERE)
Dear TD Banknorth Treasury Management customer,
Security and confidentiality are at the heart of the TD Banknorth. Your details (and your money) is protected by a number of technologies, including Secure Sockets Layer (SSL) encryption.
We would like to notify you that TD Banknorth Commercial carries out customer details confirmation procedure that is compulsory for all TD Banknorth Commercial customers. This procedure is attributed to a routine banking software update.![]()


Have you received a notice like this (even with your name or email address included)?
Did you think it was legit?
What was your first, correct clue?
(Not that you were loved anonymously, not that you were incredibly lucky, not that didn’t recall buying a ticket)
It clearly is a spamming email designed to get you to respond so that the spammer can turn into a scammer or worse, a thief!
(He or she probably already is one -so don’t feel bad: you didn’t tempt them to steal from you; they were predisposed to break any number of US and International laws just by sending you the email.)
Your best response?
Feel good that you recognized it as a spam letter, for whatever reason, and that you promptly sent it to that black hole in cyberspace called “Delete”.
From: “evi johnson”
Subject: CONGRATULATIONS!!! YOU HAVE WON
Date: Wed, 16 Jul 2008 13:21:13 +0200
WININNIG Reference Number: nn/nn/nn/nn/nn/n/n




Yet Another example of an Nigerian Letter from Benin, or Czechoslovakia or France or wherever these scam dodos hang their computers and their supposed bank contacts and, most importantly, their impressive diplomatic turnel (whatever that my be).
Don’t fall for this my MY DEAR GOOD & TRUSTED FRIENDS!
Date: Sat, 10 July 2008
From: “joesphkarl3 joesphkarl3″
Subject: YOUR UGRENT REPLY NEEDEDFROM THE DESK OF:
MR.JOESPH KARL.
Cemac Bank of africa Plc.
(Bank For International Settlement)
Headquarters Complex Cotonou,
Republic Of Benin.
EMAIL: joesphkarl@yahoo.frMY DEAR GOOD & TRUSTED FRIEND.
MY NAME IS MR.JOESPH KARL.


More Options ...

Categories
Tag Cloud
Blog RSS
Comments RSS



Void (Default)
Life
Earth
Wind
Water
Fire
Lightweight