Dear Valued “Visa” Customer

Don’t fall for this phishing email! It’s a new scam.

Here’s how the pitch starts:

Dear Valued Customer,

- Our new security system will help you to avoid frequently fraud transactions and to keep your Personal and Business Visa Credit Card details in safety.

- Due to technical update we recommend you to reactivate your card.

Please click on the link below to proceed: http://www1.visa.com/creditcards/security/confirm?form=14asjDbsjtshOkhb

We appreciate your business. It’s truly our pleasure to serve you.

Visa Credit Card Customer Care

This email is for notification purposes only.
Copyright © 2009 Visa Credit Card All rights reserved.

Interesting, that the actual web link represented underneath the apparent web link is different and doesn’t take you to an actual website labeled “Visa.com”.
It actually goes to:

“http://ww9.visa.com.token-html18.com/creditcards/security/confirm?pool=14asjDbsjtshOkhb”

which is a sub directory of “token-html18.com”. A search using an advanced “WhoIs” search web site shows that this web site address was just created on 14-April 2009, that is, yesterday!

Very interesting and also very much NOT Visa. In fact, the associated Internet Protocol address (146.57.249.100) is from the University of Minnesota!

What kind of Phisher is this?

This entry was posted in Phishing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply