Below is an actual email letter. It’s short & sweet and aimed to trap an unwitting person into responding to a website other than a bank’s actual website.
We haven’t gone there, but are willing to believe that the phisher or scammer (probably both) has set up a web page to look very much like the bank’s actual website and will do something that doesn’t sound sinister, but actually is, like asking you to verify something.
When you log in you give the scammer your actual login information which then enables them to go to the real site for the bank, log in as you and transfer your assets to another bank where they can then withdraw it, or something similar.
Bottom line:THEY STEAL YOUR MONEY AND MAYBE YOUR IDENTITY
NOTE: You can block some of the sites, like the one in the letter below by downloading the free Netcraft anti-phishing toolbar from Netcraft.com (CLICK HERE)
Dear TD Banknorth Treasury Management customer,
Security and confidentiality are at the heart of the TD Banknorth. Your details (and your money) is protected by a number of technologies, including Secure Sockets Layer (SSL) encryption.
We would like to notify you that TD Banknorth Commercial carries out customer details confirmation procedure that is compulsory for all TD Banknorth Commercial customers. This procedure is attributed to a routine banking software update.
Please login to TD Banknorth Treasury Management using the link below and follow the instructions on the screen.
http://www7.tdbanknorth.com/wcmfd/wcmpw/CustomerVerify.htm
TD Banknorth Commercial Customer Service
(We have changed the code to prevent anyone from actually linking through to a Phisher-scammer.)
What you do not see, unless you look for it, is that this link doesn’t go to TD Banknorth, as the visual display suggests - even with all the phony coded copy. No, instead it goes to a website with a basic web address of ext73.tk as highlighted in the full web address below:
http://www3.tdbanknorth.com.ext73.tk
NOTE: This web domain, ext73.tk, has a title of “Cash Transfers”.
Cash-Transfers Inc. is an online-to-offline international money transfer service. Cash-Transfers Inc. currently offers a secure, fast, and inexpensive means to send money from any of 38 countries to recipients in 8 countries. Cash-Transfers Inc.’s headquarters is located in New York City, U.S.A.
So your click is automatically routed to one of 38 different countries outside the US according to the extra code they have placed in the false web link.
Not very nice.
It would indeed be nice if Cash-Transfers Inc. would place monitors on their links to restrict such actions.


0 responses so far ↓
There are no comments yet...Kick things off by filling out the form below.
You must log in to post a comment.